N.C.S.R. "Demokritos"

Research

Department of Materials Science

small logo

Nanofunctional and nanocomposite materials

Researcher in charge: C. Trapalis

Nanofunctional and 00Nanocomposite Materials Laboratory (NNML) has been found in 2006 after the transformation of Phylomorphous Silicate Materials Laboratory. New research directions have been established including synthesis and characterization of oxide, metallic, dense and hollow nanoparticles, thin films and coatings, with functional (photocatalytic, hydrophilic, antibacterial, magnetic and etc) properties, as well as carbogenic nanostructures (carbon nanotubes, graphite, conductive polymers) and nanocomposite materials for various applications. Continuous effort is applied for development of new, chemistry based methods, for nanoparticles synthesis (sol-gel, hydrothermal treatment, pyrolytic methods etc). The Electromagnetic radiation scattering and transmission phenomena of nanostructured and artificial materials from microwaves to optics are also subject of research.

Research Topics

Personnel

NameProfessionRoleEmail addressTelephone
Dimitris NiarchosPhysicistResearcher Adniarchos@ims.demokritos.gr210 6503385
Christos TrapalisChemical EngineerResearcher Atrapalis@ims.demokritos.gr210 6503343
Tatianna GiannakopoulouResearch Associatetgia@ims.demokritos.gr210 6503347
M. GiannouriPhysicistResearch Associategiannouri@ims.demokritos.gr210 6503347
Vasiliki BelessiVisiting Scientist
Athanassios BourlinosPhysicistVisiting Scientistbourlinos@ims.demokritos.gr210 6503309
Ν. TodorovaPhysicistPhD Studenttodorova@ims.demokritos.gr210 6503347
Dimitris PetridisPhysicistResearcher, retireddpetrid@ims.demokritos.gr210 6503343
Department of Materials Science, N.C.S.R. "Demokritos", 153 10 Aghia Paraskevi, Attiki, phone: +30 210 6503381, fax: +30 210 6519430
Contact Us | ©2008 Institute of Materials Science, N.C.S.R. "Demokritos"