N.C.S.R. "Demokritos"

Research

Department of Materials Science

small logo

Magnetic Nanomaterials

Researcher in charge: D. Niarchos

This activity is focused in the synthesis, characterization and study at atomic, molecular and mesoscopic level of magnetic nanostructured materials. These include a variety of magnetic nanocomposite materials and systems, composed by different components at nanometer scale. Their properties are not only defined by the properties of their components, but also by the morphology, the interface characteristics, and the interaction among the different components.
Research activities are focused in:
(a) the development, characterization, and exploitation of magnetic multilayer thin films and nanostructures, with emphasis in the experimental and theoretical study of magnetotransport properties, magnetoelastic phenomena, and the anisotropy of surfaces and interfaces.
(b) synthesis and characterization of magnetic nanoparticles of the core-shell type.
(c) the development and experimental study of nanostructured magnetic storage media, with optimal physical and magnetic properties, as well as the construction of magnetic reading heads with faster response at high frequencies.

Research Topics

Personnel

NameProfessionRoleEmail addressTelephone
Eamonn DevlinPhysicistResearcher Aedevlin@ims.demokritos.gr210 6503345
Dimitris NiarchosPhysicistResearcher Adniarchos@ims.demokritos.gr210 6503385
Michalis PissasMetal EngineerResearcher Ampissas@ims.demokritos.gr210 6503306
Margaritis GjokaPhysicistResearch Officergjoka@ims.demokritos.gr210 6503318
A. SpeliotisPhysicistResearch Officertspeliotis@ims.demokritos.gr210 6503383
Christos ChristidisVisiting Scientistchristides@ims.demokritos.gr210 6503306
Georgios HatzipanagisVisiting Scientist
Ioannis PanagiotopoulosVisiting Scientist
Irini ZafiropoulouChemistVisiting Scientistzafeirini@ims.demokritos.gr210 6503309
Vassilis TzitziosChemistPost-Doctoral Fellowtzitzios@ims.demokritos.gr210 6503321
Georgia BasinaPhD Studentgbasina@ims.demokritos.gr210 6503309
Efthimios ManiosPhD Studentmanios@ims.demokritos.gr210 6503321
Department of Materials Science, N.C.S.R. "Demokritos", 153 10 Aghia Paraskevi, Attiki, phone: +30 210 6503381, fax: +30 210 6519430
Contact Us | ©2008 Institute of Materials Science, N.C.S.R. "Demokritos"