Official Website of

The International Symposium on Archaeometry

Saturday, 17 Nov 2018
Call for papers Proceedings ISA 2016 Proceedings ISA 2016
ISA 2018 ISA 2018 ISA Merida, Yucatan, Mexico , May 20-26, 2018
ISA 2008 proceedings ISA 2008 e-book
advert hosted by N.C.S.R. "Demokritos"

50 Years ISA

The 50 Years Anniversary of International Symposium on Archaeometry

The 39 th ISA Meeting at Leuven coincided with the Golden Jubilee of the International Symposium on Archaeometry. After a preliminary meeting in London in 1961, the Laboratory for Archaeology and the History of Art, Oxford University started organizing systematically a meeting every year since 1962, initially as a trainings course on Magnetic Prospection. The founder and organizer of these meetings was Martin J. Aitken. Details of all meetings and a collection of programs can be found elsewhere in this web page but a brief list of the times and places and the evolution of the history of our Symposium from a training course to the present name and form follows below.

New name: “ Symposium on Archaeometry and Archaeological Prospection”

New name: “International Symposium on Archaeometry and Archaeological Prospection”

Final name (annual): “International Symposium on Archaeometry (ISA)”

Final name (biannual): “International Symposium on Archaeometry (ISA)”

A special reception was organized in Leuven to celebrate the 50 th ISA anniversary which took place at the Province House Vlaams-Brabant. It was a unique occasion as we had the honour to see again after many years of retirement Martin J. Aitken, now in his 90’s, the founder of the Symposium and the first Chairman of the Standing Committee until 1988, as well as the founder of the Archaeometry Journal and in general Archaeometry as a field. Also, we were happy to have with us the second Chairman of the S.C., Michael S. Tite, who served until 2004 whose extended contribution to ISA and Archaeometry as a whole is widely recognised. Martin Aitken gave a speech on the Gestation of Archaeometry including some historic photos. Mike Tite gave also a speech and that was followed by the speech of Yannis Maniatis, the present Chairman of the S.C.


About Us | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | ©2010 Institute of Materials Science, N.C.S.R. "Demokritos"